Home EXAMS National Examinations Council (NECO) Grading System 2023 in Nigeria

National Examinations Council (NECO) Grading System 2023 in Nigeria


National Examinations Council (NECO) Grading System 2023 | NECO Grading System Portal.

NECO Grading System: National Examinations Council Grading System has published its grading system for Secondary School Education candidates. The National Examination Council of Nigeria [NECO] system controls the Senior Secondary Certificate Examination and the General Certificate examination of Nigeria.

NECO Grading System

NECO Grading System

The National Examination Council (NECO) of Nigeria is an approved educational system that was permitted by the federal government of Nigeria in 2001. It was created in 1999 but approved a couple of years later. In Nigeria there are two types of grading scales, one is the West African Examination Council [WAEC] and the other one is The National Examination Council of Nigeria [NECO].

See Also: National Examinations Council (NECO) [Junior WAEC] BECE Timetable.

National Examinations Council Grading System.

GradeScaleGrade DescriptionUS Grade
A11.00 – 1.99ExcellentA+
B22.00 – 2.99Very GoodA
B33.00 – 3.99GoodB
B44.00 – 4.99CreditB
C55.00 – 5.99CreditC
C66.00 – 6.99CreditC
D77.00 – 7.99PassD
E88.00 – 8.99PassD

NECO Grading System in Nigeria: In terms of number based GPA, NECO grading system looks like these:

1, 0 to 49 – Fail (F)

2. 50 to 59 – Pass (P)

3. 60 to 79 – Credit (C)

4. 80 to 100 – Excellent (A)

Recommended: Jamb Marking Scheme Portal and Grading System

4 Major Examinations under NECO Grading System | www.mynecoexams.com

Senior Secondary Certificate Examination (SSCE): In Nigeria, the government offers six years of basic education. Three years for Junior Secondary Education. Though the mathematics courses may not be needed in higher education, both the mathematics and English language course are there for all the students. And then the students seats for the SSCE.

This is the examination taken by candidates in their last stage of Secondary School Education. The SSCE is in two categories. One is for candidates in the third and final year of their senior secondary education and it is called SSCE Internal while the Second is SSCE External and is for candidates not in the School system, i.e. Private Candidates.


The SSCE internal has seventy-six subjects which are grouped into the following six categories.

1. Compulsory Cross-Cutting Subjects
2. Science and Mathematics
3. Technology
4. Humanities
5. Business Studies and
6. Trade/Entrepreneurship.

The minimum number of subjects a candidate can sit for is eight while the maximum is nine. All Senior Secondary schools in the Federation present Candidates for the SSCE Internal. EXTERNAL

Another core component of the mandate of the Council as espoused in the Enabling law is the conduct of the Senior School Certificate Examination for External Candidates:

Junior Secondary Certificate Examination (JSCE): JSCE exams held at the final or third year of junior secondary education in federal colleges or secondary schools. Under the state government, the Junior Secondary Certificate Examination (JSCE) is held.

National Common Entrance Examination (NCEE): after the 6th year of basic education, students who want to join the Federal Unity Colleges, students have to sit for an entrance examination. This is also called the National Common Entrance Examination. Students of Nigeria, have to seat for the two annual exams to have a seat at the Federal Unity Colleges.

This examination is administered to pupils in their 6th year of basic education. The purpose of this examination is to select the best candidates from every state of the federation and the federal Capital territory (FCT) for admission into federal Unity colleges. These Colleges are essentially, Secondary schools owned by the Federal Government of Nigeria. Their objective is to foster unity amongst the children of NIGERIA. One is held annually. Result of the first examination determines candidates that qualify for a second examination based on cut-off marks for each state. The result of the second examination qualifies candidates for admission based on merit, equal state quota and environment considerations.

Go to NCEE Site

Basic Education Certificate Examination (BECE): To transit from the ninth year of the basic education class to the senior secondary, the BECE is conducted for candidates in their third year of the Junior Secondary School. While each state of the federation and the FCT conducts the BECE for its candidates, NECO conducts the BECE for Federal Unity Colleges, Armed Forces Secondary Schools, and other Federal establishments operating Secondary schools.

Private Secondary schools also take part in the NECO BECE provided they are permitted by their State Ministries of Education. Eighteen subjects are administered at the BECE level. A candidate is expected to sit for a minimum of nine subjects and a maximum of ten. A candidate is deemed to have passed the BECE if he/she has passed in six subjects including English and Mathematics.

The grading system is as follows:

A – Distinction
C – Credit
P – Pass
F – Fail
Go to BECE Site

If you have any questions concerning NECO Grading System, please feel free to use the comment box below and ask us your question. We will be very pleased to answer you.

You can share this information, with your family and friends, as it will be helpful to someone. Please share it on Twitter, Facebook, G+, Whatsapp or Email it to friends. Use the buttons below to do this.


  1. Good day,
    Well done for the good job. Please can you put up the grading marks like between 100 and what is A, and so on.
    Thank you

  2. My child was extremely sick but put all her effort in d mathematics obj section one she score 37 section b she score 38 but did not really finish her theory what are faith in ur grading shade


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here